Frank Iero & The Future Violents release new album ‘Barriers’

With the release of their new studio album ‘Barriers’ (breaking through today via UNFD), Frank Iero & The Future Violents haven broken down another barrier in their career. Frank Iero and the Future Violents is Frank Iero, Evan Nestor, Matt Armstrong, Tucker Rule, and Kayleigh Goldsworthy. ‘Barriers’ was recorded and mixed by Steve Albini and is out via UNFD.

Frank Iero‘s new record is a rumination of sorts on life and living and the obstacles that get in the way. Recorded and mixed by Steve Albini, ‘Barriers’ is 14 songs that not only tackle the existential journey of his heart and mind, but help him redirect his musical path.

‘Barriers’ is a record that I still can’t believe I made and I’m so incredibly proud of it,” Frank Iero reflects. “I can’t wait for other people to be shocked and appalled and inspired by it. Hopefully, it scares the shit out of them.”

“I never expected to do one solo record in my lifetime,” he chuckles, “let alone three. Every time I start a new record, I say to myself ‘This is it. This is the end. This is the last one.’ It got me thinking about how we set up these obstacles around ourselves. Sometimes they’re for protection and sometimes they’re to keep people out, and sometimes we even set them up so that we fail and we find solace in that failure. But whenever I find something that scares the shit out of me, that’s when I know I have to do it! And so these songs are about experiences that were either walls I wanted to break down or walls that I’d built up around myself in order to protect myself. But these songs were also things that I’d never attempted before but had always wanted to try.”


Similar Articles

Don't miss