Hardcore band Zulu tap Eric Andre for A Tribe Called Quest inspired video for ‘Where I’m From’

Los Angeles hardcore band Zulu has unleashed their new single and video ‘Where I’m From.’ The clip was influenced by A Tribe Called Quest’s iconic music video for ‘Scenario,’ and brings the spirit of the original to a new generation.

Shot, directed, and edited by guitarist Dez Yusuf, Zulu’s video features a cameo from comedian Eric Andre, as well as appearances from Soul Glo’s Pierce Jordan and Playytime’s Obioma Ugonna. Both Jordan and Ugonna deliver guest features that complement the dynamic vocal delivery from frontperson Anaiah Lei and drummer Christine Cadette. The riff-ready track serves as the second single, following ‘Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did),’ from the band’s forthcoming album, ‘A New Tomorrow’ set for release on March 3rd on Flatspot Records.

‘A New Tomorrow’ marks Zulu’s first full-length, following EPs ‘Our Day Will Come’ (2019) and ‘My People..Hold On’ (2020). Taking on the task of self-producing the record, Zulu immersed themselves in collaborator Zach Tuch’s (Dare, Trash Talk) studio in the valley. After spending months toying with different instrumentation and samples, and pulling influences ranging from reggae to death metal, the result is an eclectic 15 tracks.

You can ‘A New Tomorrow’ through Flatspot RecordsHERE.

Zulu ‘A New Tomorrow’ artwork

‘A New Tomorrow’ tracklist:

01. Africa
02. For Sista Humphrey
03. Our Day Is Now
04. Music To Driveby
05. Where I’m From (Ft. Pierce Jordan & Obioma Ugonna)
06. Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did)
07. Shine Eternally
08. Must I Only Share My Pain
09. Lyfe Az A Shorty Shun B So Ruff
10. From Tha Gods To Earth
11. Créme De Cassis By Aleisia Miller & Precious Tucker
12. We’re More Than This
13. 52 Fatal Strikes (Ft. Paris Roberts)
14. Divine Intervention
15. Who Jah Bless No One Curse

Similar Articles

Don't miss