Joe Gittleman announces debut album ‘Hold Up,’ shares lead single ‘Plastered in the Rafters’

You can’t keep a good man down and that certainly rings true when speaking of Joe Gittleman. After the shocking news that his beloved ska band The Mighty Mighty Bosstones were hanging it up, Joe Gittleman has lost no time staying active musically. Last June, he released three songs on a split with New Orleans ‘New-Tone’ band, Bad Operation on Bad Time Records. He followed that up with an announcement of a new band featuring him, Sammy Kay, Mike McDermott (Joan Jett), and J. Duckworth called The Kilograms, who released a five-song EP earlier this year.

Now, Joe has announced his debut solo album titled ‘Hold Up’ that will be released this June on Bad Time Records. The lead single, ‘Plastered in the Rafters’, is what you’d expect from the longtime Bostonian – an upbeat ska song, with a tight groove, a dash of punk rock, and thoughtful lyrics. If you’re looking to fill the void that was left from the demise of The Bosstones, ‘Plastered in the Rafters’ is about as good as it gets. You can also catch The Kilograms on tour this May and you might even be able to hear some of these solo songs worked into their set.

Joe Gittleman – ‘Hold Up’ artwork

‘Hold Up’ tracklist:

01. Plastered In The Rafters
02. Glimmer
03. Hold Up
04. Red Polaroid Eyes
05. I Shoulda Known
06. There or Thereabouts
07. No Reaction
08. Treadmill
09. Fool Heart
10. Chores
11. Asked Politely To Leave
12. For The Love of Gino Mader

Upcoming tour dates:

May 9th – Northside Tavern – Cincinnati, OH
May 10th – Smalls – Detroit, MI
May 11th – Appleton Beer Works – Appleton, WI
May 12th – Reggie’s – Chicago, IL

Similar Articles

Don't miss