Melodic punk band Ways Away share new single ‘(I’m Not) Laughing With You’

Los Angeles-based band Ways Away has announced their sophomore album, ‘Torch Songs,’ set for release on October 14th on Other People Records. Produced and mixed by Beau Burchell (Saosin) and mastered by Mike Kalajian at Rogue Planet, the eleven tracks on the record pack a punch, from fast, gritty punk tracks to more melodic numbers. The band gave fans an early taste with the standalone single ‘Never Mind The Dog’ and now they share the guitar-driven song ‘(I’m Not) Laughing With You.’

Speaking on the lyrics, vocalist Jesse Barnett states: “It’s simply a song about a couple of people who hyper focus on what it is that I’m doing and have nothing to offer but projected fear or frustration. The judgment and arguments these people have within themselves and converse to others about made-up scenarios where I can’t explain nor defend myself. I’m done with people like this. If I’m the perceived reason your life sucks so bad, then your life probably already sucks as is.”

Ways Away’s members pack a notable rock resume, comprised of guitarist Sergie Loobkoff (Samiam, Knapsack, Racquet Club), vocalist and guitarist Jesse Barnett (Stick to Your Guns, Wish You Were Here), drummer Jared Shavelson (Boysetsfire, The Hope Conspiracy), and bassist Ian Smith (Racquet Club). The band made their debut in 2020 with their ‘Ways Away’ LP and build upon their storied sound on the upcoming album ‘Torch Songs.’ The record explores themes of anti-capitalism and living in the current state of the world, as well as approaching more personal moments about love and loss.

Ways Away – ‘Torch Songs’ artwork

‘Torch Songs’ tracklist:

01. I Got Low
02. (I’m Not) Laughing With You
03. Heaven’s Lathe
04. Never Mind The Dog
05. Happy With What I Have
06. No Chance In Hell
07. The Only Living Boy In LA
08. Easy Fix
09. Burn Me Out
10. Pink Kerosene
11. Roll Back To You

Similar Articles

Don't miss