The Damned announce brand-new album ‘Darkadelic,’ share new single ‘The Invisible Man’

46 years after releasing their groundbreaking debut, ‘Damned Damned Damned,’ UK music pioneers return with ‘Darkadelic,’ their first studio album since 2018’s UK top 10 ‘Evil Spirits.’ It follows on the long dark coattails of last year’s live release ‘A Night of a Thousand Vampires’ (a UK #1) and will be released on April 28th, 2023 on earMUSIC.

‘Darkadelic’ catches the band once again evolving and expanding upon their unique universe and features some of The Damned’s sharpest songwriting and genre-bending performances. Alongside Dave Vanian, Captain Sensible, Paul Gray, and Monty Oxymoron, William Granville-Taylor joins the band on drums.

Today also marks the release of the first single and video for “The Invisible Man”. It’s the first glimpse into the world of ‘Darkadelic,’ The Damned’s 12th studio album. Accompanied by a gloriously delirious video from director Martin Gooch, it swirls Captain Sensible’s trippy guitar swaths into David Vanian’s signature snarling baritone vocals in a tale of mystery and madness. It is one step beyond into a new ‘Darkadelic’ universe as could only be conjured up by The Damned.

Following their formation in 1976, The Damned remain one of the most groundbreaking bands coming out of the 70s British punk rock scene. With 11 studio albums and several UK chart singles, they are pioneers who rose from London to earn an ever-expanding global fan base fueled by legendary live shows. Their dark lyrics and David Vanian’s rich baritone vocals also catapulted The Damned to the forefront of the Goth rock genre.

Similar Articles

Don't miss