The Mars Volta announce first new album in a decade, share new single and short film ‘Vigil’

After the release of two new singles following a decade-long hiatus, The Mars Volta have unveiled details surrounding their seventh upcoming full-length album ‘The Mars Volta’ due for release on September 16, 2022. The new album bravely challenges everything you thought you knew about them, delivering their most exciting, most accessible, and most sophisticated music yet. The band also releases a third single and short film for ‘Vigil,’ with Cedric Bixler-Zavala noting “And the obits wait for a perfect name”.

In addition, ‘The Mars Volta’ is now available for digital and physical pre-order. Digitally the album will be available in Dolby Atmos and spatial audio, and physically on CD and vinyl with Clouds Hill holding an exclusive, kinetic version of the vinyl, which can be ordered HERE. A special, gold foiled outer sleeve with embossed art will be available on LP, CD, and cassette.

The new album shakes loose some of the band’s long-standing shibboleths, with only two tracks lasting longer than four minutes, and the dizzying, abrasive prog stylings of earlier albums absent. ‘The Mars Volta’ pulses with subtle brilliance, Caribbean rhythms underpinning sophisticated, turbulent song craft. This is guitarist/composer Omar Rodríguez-López and singer/lyricist Cedric Bixler-Zavala at their most mature, most concise, most focused. Their sound and fury channeled to the greatest effect.

The Mars Volta ‘The Mars Volta’ artwork

‘The Mars Volta’ tracklisting:

01. Blacklight Shine
02. Graveyard Love
03. Shore Story
04. Blank Condolences
05. Vigil
06. Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón
07. Cerulea
08. Flash Burns From Flashbacks
09. Palm Full Of Crux
10. No Case Gain
11. Tourmaline
12. Equus 3
13. Collapsible Shoulders
14. The Requisition

Similar Articles

Don't miss