The Wonder Years announce new album ‘The Hum Goes On Forever,’ share ‘Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)’

“I don’t want to die, at least not without you.” Those are the words that open up The Wonder Years‘ new album, ‘The Hum Goes On Forever,’ It marks the next evolution of a band that’s never stopped growing, never stopped striving, never stopped searching for the truth and the heart of this dumb thing we call life.

On every level, their seventh studio album finds The Wonder Years facing an onslaught of things outside of one’s control. It’s a scenario that’s only further exasperated by the fact that it’s also the first album they’ve made since vocalist Dan Campbell became a father. So when he sings those first lines, they shimmer with a little extra poignancy and potency. Between pre-vaccine pandemic logistics, anxiety, postpartum depression, inherited trauma, and a band searching for their deeper existential purpose, ‘The Hum Goes On Forever’ was undoubtedly the most challenging record The Wonder Years has ever made.

Named for a poem in the booklet for their 2018 album ‘Sister Cities,’ ‘The Hum Goes On Forever’ is a self-referencing masterpiece, and it finds The Wonder Years at their absolute, unequivocal peak. It’s a revealing representation of how the six members have all grown together as musicians; they know when to be restrained and when to explode, filling in space and emptiness as needed to create a record that mirrors the heart-torn urgency at its core.

The album is available for pre-order on exclusive deluxe vinyl and merch and will be released on September 23rd, 2022.

The Wonder Years – ‘The Hum Goes On Forever’ artwork

‘The Hum Goes On Forever’ tracklist:

01. Doors I Painted Shut
02. Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)
03. Oldest Daughter
04. Cardinals II
05. The Paris of Nowhere
06. Summer Clothes
07. Lost in the Lights
08. Songs About Death
09. Low Tide
10. Laura & the Beehive
11. Old Friends Like Lost Teeth
12. You’re the Reason I Don’t Want the World to End

The new single Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)’ is also out today – a song Campbell wrote for his oldest son, Wyatt. “It’s about the polarizing forces of love and anxiety that come with being a new parent—simultaneously being so overjoyed that they’re here, about the miraculous nature of their existence, but afraid of all the ways you could fail them,” Dan explains. “It’s about raising children in a world that feels like it’s actively ending and how to make them feel safe and cared for despite that. It tries to breathe in the small, beautiful moments and exhale all of the invasive thoughts of despair.”

Similar Articles

Don't miss