Thrice release re-recorded version of the ‘Artist In The Ambulance’

Following a successful run of shows in December and preparing to celebrate 25 years of being a band, California rock band Thrice just shared a brand-new, re-recorded version of ‘The Artist In The Ambulance.’ The album revisits all twelve original tracks, featuring guest vocals from Ryan Osterman (Holy Fawn), Chuck Ragan (Hot Water Music), Sam Carter (Architects), Mike Minnick (Curl Up And Die), Brian McTernan (Be Well), and Andy Hull.

“The question has to be asked: Why would we re-record a 20 year old album, let alone one that is widely beloved and arguably our most well-known. I think the core of the answer is that it simply sounded fun and we were curious,” shares Kensrue. “We know that playing the revisionist is a dangerous game, so we were always a little uneasy about trying to go back and mess with something that people loved, people who had none of the hangups about the record that we did. But, since we decided to do this anyway, we tried to let that wariness guide us in how we approached the record, and in the end we decided to make very minimal structural changes.”

Released in 2003, ‘The Artist In The Ambulance’ remains one of the most influential albums in the genre. Featuring tracks like ‘The Artist In The Ambulance,’ ‘All That’s Left,’ ‘Stare At The Sun’ and more, the album peaked at number 1 and number 16 on the Billboard US Top Internet Albums and Billboard 200 chart respectively.

“At the end of the day, what we wanted the record to sound like for fans is that somehow one of their old favorite records got a new lease on life, but that it hadn’t lost its soul or turned into something else. We hope you enjoy revisiting ‘The Artist In The Ambulance.’” You can stream ‘The Artist In The Ambulance – Revisited’ and pre-order limited edition vinyl HERE.

‘The Artist In The Ambulance – Revisited’ tracklist:

01. Cold Cash And Cold Hearts
02. Under A Killing Moon (feat. Sam Carter)
03. All That’s Left
04. Silhouette
05. Stare At The Sun (feat. Andy Hull)
06. Paper Tigers (feat. Ryan Osterman)
07. Hoods On Peregrine (feat. Brian McTernan)
08. The Melting Point Of Wax
09. Blood Clots And Black Holes (feat. Chuck Ragan)
10. The Artist In The Ambulance
11. The Abolition Of Man (feat. Mike Minnick)
12. Don’t Tell And We Won’t AsK

Thrice also announced their upcoming tour in celebration of the 20th anniversary of ‘The Artist In The Ambulance.’ The tour kicks off on May 18 in San Diego, CA, and will be visiting cities throughout the United States, playing ‘The Artist In The Ambulance’ in its entirety, with special guest Holy Fawn. Pre-sale tickets are available now at All additional tickets go on sale Friday, February 3 at 12pm ET on

Similar Articles

Don't miss