Willow announces new album ‘Empathogen’, shares new single ‘Big Feelings’

American singer-songwriter Willow has announced her sixth studio album ‘Empathogen’ which will be released on May 3rd, 2024. The album is her first LP in two years since the 2022 album ‘Coping Mechanism’ and comprises a 12-track, featuring collaborations with Jon Batiste and St. Vincent.

Back in November 2023, Willow told Rolling Stone about the album in an interview, “For ‘Coping Mechanism’ I was almost never sober in the studio. And for this new album, I was sober for every single recording session… I feel like my mind state was extremely different. There was so much more gratitude, so much more resonance with myself, and so much more coming back to my roots with these new songs that are coming out.”

Willow has also unveiled her second single titled ‘Big Feelings’ on April 11th following the release of ‘Symptom of Life’ last month. The track was written by Chris Greatti, Willow, and Zach Tenorio and produced by both Willow and Chris Greatti.

“The piano part of this song is so dense and dissonant but also darkly beautiful,” Willow said of the song. “I wrote ‘big feelings’ during a week where I was coming to terms with my own emotional patterns that I hadn’t known were there. Musically, it has a darkness and complexity that reflects what we all experience in our own minds. The song is about accepting those intense feelings that you have no idea what to do with.”

WILLOW – ‘Empathogen’ artwork

‘Empathogen’ tracklist:

01. Home (feat. Jon Batiste)
02. Ancient Girl
03. Symptom Of Life
04. The Fear Is Not Real
05. False Self
06. Pain For Fun (feat. St. Vincent)
07. No Words 1 & 2
08. Down
09. Run!
10. Between I And She
11. I Know That Face.
12. b i g f e e l i n g s

Similar Articles

Don't miss