Wilmette unveils emotionally gripping new song and video ‘No One Knew’

Illinois pop punk 5-piece Wilmette has released ‘No One Knew’ the next single off the band’s long-awaited debut full-length, ‘Hyperfocused,’ out on August 4, 2023, via Mutant League Records. The track is accompanied by an emotionally gripping new music video directed by Alex Zarek.

Vocalist Aaron Hailey says: “It’s about the guilt of not being able to help someone through a hard time, and the helpless feeling that comes with being there while they struggle.”

Guitarist Griffin Guge adds, “We tracked this song exactly halfway through the recording process. It was a point where we thought we knew where the record was going until we got to this song. There was a lot of room to grow on the track, and we definitely got excited to experiment with a lot of cool guitar sounds. One of my favorites of which is in the bridge. We used a variety of unconventional guitar techniques as well as pedals to quite literally make it sound like the song is breaking and the building you’re in is coming down. I think it was very fitting for the part.”

Hailing from the Chicago suburbs, Wilmette combines pop-punk and hardcore with a fresh style that relies on pop hooks, honest lyrics, and strong musicianship. The band’s emphatic debut EP ‘Anxious Body’ was released in 2019 to much acclaim.

Wilmette – ‘Hyperfocused’ artwork

‘Hyperfocused’ Track Listing:

1. No Conviction
2. Hyperfocused
3. Playing Dead
4. I Don’t Even Want To Be Around Anymore
5. Circa ‘99
6. Small Talk
7. Everybody Wants Me Dead
8. No One Knew
9. Sunflower
10. Out Of My Hands


Similar Articles

Don't miss